Book your tour

Book now with

  • Guaranteed and fixed prices
  • No hidden charges
  • Safe and secure payment systems
  • Secure SSL encryption
  • Customer friendly attitude
  • Customer oriented service
  • Customer online support
Categories

Perfume Pagoda: The relics and landscapes


If visitors go to the promoted system of the Perfume Pagoda (Huong Pagoda), you'll find a great sense of a fairyland. They include eighteen kinds of temples, pagodas and caves, which are scattered in four hamlets with names as Yen Vi Duc Khe, Duc Xa and Phu Yen; all are in Huong Son Commune, My Duc District, Hanoi City, now.
Here, the temples and pagodas with the vast majority are found and built in the centuries as 17th, 18th and 19th. Most of these attractions are based on the mountain’s slopes or in a valley. These places are uniquely beautiful terrain to create.

The system consists of twenty-eight points are divided into four zones as follows:

1 – The Huong Thien area includes eight relics as: Huong Tich Cave, Thien Tru Pagoda, Trinh Ngu Temple, Giai Oan Pagoda, Cua Vong Temple, Tien Son Pagoda, Hinh Bong Pagoda and Dai Binh Cave.

2 - The Thanh Huong area and Huong Dai Cave

3 – The Long Van zone includes of four locations as: Long Van Pagoda, Long Van Cave, Cay Khe Cave, Thanh Hoa Cave.

4 - The Tuyen Son area includes of four relics as: Bao Dai Pagoda, Ngoc Long Cave, Ngu Tri Pagoda (Fish Pagoda), and Trinh Phu Yen Temple.

If you have enough time, you must go during three days to see all.

Thien Tru Pagoda


The Thien Tru pagoda

 

The temple is started up from the reign of King Le Thanh Tong, the year of the Pig (1467) to 1686 and rebuilt by Tran Dao Vien Quang Monk. In 1942, the entire project was completed and became as a magnificent castle.

In the past, the temple was done some damages in some years as 1947, 1948 and 1950. On February 11, 1989 based on the lunar calendar, the Board of Perfume Pagoda Construction started to build. And on Jan 11, 1991 based on the lunar calendar, it was inaugurated.

Currently, with the systems of architecture are the splendor and magnificent Thien Tru Pagoda become a center of the Huong Son scene.

Giai Oan Pagoda

 

The Giai Oan pagoda


Giai Oan Pagoda is located on the mountain’s slopes and on the left side on the road to Huong Tich. It was built on the Long Tuyen mountain by an old bonze named Thong Dung on the reign of Le Thuan Tong King in 1735 based on the lunar calendar with the Name of a reign's years 4th Long Duc. In early 1928, there was a bonze with a name as Thanh Tich, who embellished again based on the ancient style under the name is "Y Bich Son".

In 1955, the Board of Perfume Pagoda Construction repaired. At it’s around, there are places such as the Phat Tich section, the Tuyet Kinh cave, the Tu Van section. In particular, there is the Thanh Tri natural well inside; water is completely clear and never dry. According to the saved legend, Bodhisattva Kwan Yin was bathing in this well to remove dust; Bodhisattva sat based on the Buddhism’s style to rest before traveling to the Buddhism’s world.

Huong Tich Cave

 

The Huong Tich cave


It was created by the operation of nature. Huong Tich Cave was discovered in the eleventh century and was taken into the list of the Buddhist system in 1687. According to legend, Bodhisattva entered a character of the Dieu Hien princess, who is the daughter of Dieu Trang Vuong King in Hung Lam Kingdom. The princess had become a monk for 9 years and succeeded in this cave, so it was named Huong Tich (meaning as the fragrant trail).

In particular, there is a statue in the shape of Bodhisattva, which is made of the green stone and carved into the Tay Son dynasty. There are tens of thousands of the stone’s breasts, which heave with many strange shapes. Based on the theory of water-wind, the Huong Tich cave is a Queen dragon, which is opening its mouth to play (joke) with pearls. This is a key place within the landscapes and often called the main pagoda.

Tien Son Pagoda

 

The Tien Son pagoda


It was formed during a part of the reign of Le - Trinh. In the year of the Tiger (1770), Trinh Sam King set a poem with an eight-word style to praise the beauty here. Then, the cave was obscured by the rocks and trees. In the year of Cat (1903), The Thien group that lived in Yen Vy Hamlet, found and re-opened.

In the year of Dragon (1904), it was chiseled to form a stone door, which is the entrance on the right-hand way. In the year of Goat (1907), here was carved more three stone statues, which are as white as the white-gems. And in the year of Pig (1911), it was carved more two statues. Later, a number of artificial works have been destroyed.

In 1962, the Thien group worshiped and put it merged into the ruins’ system to manage more easily. As from 1994 to 1996, the Board of Huong Pagoda Construction restored and upgraded for some areas as the To Duong section (main section), the Bao section and Ta Huu Vu area. Inside the cave, there are the worships of Buddhism and relationship ones of the third Lady God (based on the story of Bodhisattva in Huong Pagoda).

Cua Vong Temple

 

The Cua Vong temple

 

The temple is also known as Tran Song - Van Phong Temple was created by Master Bonze named Thanh Tich in 1908 based on a style, which is the self to hang the hammock - door to go through the mountain. In the front, there is a row of a mountain with the style of "the dragon kneels and looks at the moon." In 1993 and 1995, the Board of the Perfume Pagoda Construction was repaired and extended the courtyard of the temple.

Here worship the Thanh Y princess. According to legend, she was known as "the Lady God of Highland" with meaning is as: the king, the princess and the 12 lady-fairies are the ethnic minorities. This place was also the home of the lady-fairies, which often work as informers from outside into the pagoda.

Dai Binh Cave

 

The Dai Binh cave

 

This also called Than Binh (meaning is Army Deity). It was created on 2nd-Mar-the year of Goat (1991) by the idea of Mr. Nguyen Van Bao and Mr. Bui Van Xe. On the 6th of January, in the year of Fowl (1993), two people wrote the document to offer to the pagoda’s managers, and it was merged into the ruins of the Buddhist Church.

This cave was formed a long time ago. It saved remnant of an army of the ethnic minorities, which was commanded by two men as Mr. Dinh Cong Trang and Mr. Dinh Van. Later, they failed and made sacrifices at this place. Two men have carved the words "Dai Binh" on the door to mark. So it is also called the cave of the troops.

Hinh Bong Cave

 

The Hinh Bong cave

 

In the year of Monkey (1932), the Thien group in the Yen Vy hamlet discovered a small cave on a high mountain within the Rice Plant valley. It is called the Hinh Bong cave and operated by the support of Ms. Hai Khoat - a Buddhist in Hai Phong Province. One year later, a white-stone statue was carved for worshiping.

In the year of Dog (1934), a bonze named Dam Tuyet came here to manage. And on July 18th, in the year of Fowl (1993), the construction of the Bong Doanh pagoda was started near the Binh Hong cave to be able to maintain this relic.

  • Tags:
Video & Photo Gallery
Testimonials

21 Day Vietnam/Cambodia tour

Hi,

Hello Pham Cong Thien

We are pleased that the two payments are now appearing as pending on our credit cards ...

Anet Riemer

more testimonials